The fISITA Medal

The FISITA Medal is awarded to an individual for distinguished achievements in automotive and mobility systems engineering

The award is decided by the FISITA Council on the recommendation of the Medal Committee.

Examples of the categories into which such achievements may be placed include:

  • A long and successful career in the automobile industry
  • A specialist contribution to a particular sector in the automobile field
  • The leadership/direction of a defined project
  • An innovative/creative design concept
  • A high technology manufacturing system


2023 Recipient

Dr. Corina Sandu

Robert E. Hord Jr. Professor and Associate Department Head for Graduate Studies
Virginia Tech, Department of Mechanical Engineering

United States

Previous Recipients

2021 - Mr. Fu Yuwu

Honorary President China SAE


2018 - Dr. Akihiko Saito



2016 - Dr. Pawan Goenka

Managing Director & CEO
Mahindra & Mahindra


2014 - Prof. Helmut List

Chairman & CEO
AVL List GmbH


2014 - Mr. Konghui Guo

2012 - Prof. Franz Pischinger

2012 - Prof. Dr. Martin Winterkorn

2011 - Mr. Carlos Ghosn

2011 - Dr. Jack Schmidt

2010 - Mr. Hiroshi Okuda